Writing Lessons: The Morning

The hardest part of the writing process is writing. Thoughts come and go, ideas get lost, you lose sight of your storyline; it is a beautiful process. Living in the Pacific Northwest, I have ample opportunities to get out and find my inspiration, clear my head, take down my thoughts, and breathe the fresh air. My writing, your writing, needs this. Writing is ultimately a reflection of your thoughts; therefore, if your thoughts are sporadic, clouded, frustrated, anxious, or anything but pure your writing will be, too.

By 5:30 am the birds are practicing their songs. Just before 6 am is the sunrise. By 6:20 am it is plenty bright, more than enough to get out for a nice walk. I loaded my pack to train for this summer’s backpack in Yosemite, that alone brings on a flood of memories. It is early so I shared the country side with birds, deer, and squirrels. The mornings here are cool with a gentle breeze, the sun giving soft light at its still low angle. It was a feeling not unlike that of the last day of a backpack in Yosemite; we were on the trail shortly after six, my pack was heavy, the air was cool, birds sang, deer ate, squirrels danced up trees. How great it feels to be in that moment again. Every minute detail, down to the sound my backpack’s straps make as I walk, was relived. Inspiration flooded in, joy was abound! The funny thing is, I can do this every morning.

I encourage you to get out and take a walk or sit on the porch and breathe the fresh air. Allow your face to catch the early morning light, or the vibrant rays of the setting sun. Whatever your genre of writing be; it doesn’t have to be nature or adventure travel. Just get out and let the inspiration find you.

“I am losing precious days. I am degenerating into a machine for making money. I am learning nothing in this trivial world of men. I must break away and get out into the mountains to learn the news.”

-John Muir

Leave a Reply

