(Almost) Always Another Trip

When I first starting writing this piece it read: in your lifetime, mountains don’t fall, rivers don’t stop meandering, wildlife doesn’t leave, the sun doesn’t stop setting. Only the later is a reasonably safe bet. Mountains fall, rivers are dammed, animals are poached or driven out by habitat loss. What does that mean for a trip?

I love going into the backcountry, away from the crowds and close to the unseen depths of wilderness. At what cost do I venture into the depths of wilderness? Injury, storms, animals, dehydration, rock fall; so many variables weigh in on the danger of a trip. Obviously I find wilderness worth the risk; I enjoy the risk minimal though it may seem. Last years trip was cut short due to injury so this year, my graduation trip, was my chance to get it right. The planets aligned.

Leave a Reply

